Community of Practice

Community of Practice

Community of Practice

The CoP ended August 2022. The project descriptions and resources are posted to share with the network.

The CoP and its Racial Equity Learning Community, were funded over a six-year period through a cooperative agreement from the Administration on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (AIDD), Administration on Community Living, U.S Department of Health and Human Services.

Community of PracticeWelcome

The goal of the Community of Practice on Cultural and Linguistic Competence in Developmental Disabilities (CoP) is to increase the number, diversity, and capacity of formal and informal leaders to transform their state/territorial developmental disabilities (DD) systems by: (1) advancing and sustaining cultural and linguistic competence (CLC) systemically through changes in values, policy, structures, and practices; and (2) responding effectively to the growing cultural and linguistic diversity among people with DD and their families who reside in states, territories, and tribal nations.

The CoP has two primary objectives.

  • Objective 1. Create and implement a multifaceted CoP designed to facilitate peer exchange, share information, provide technical assistance, and leverage resources to increase diversity and advance CLC in state/territorial DD systems. 
  • Objective 2. Integrate content from a proven curriculum (Georgetown Leadership Academy ©) into a multi-state/territory CoP model designed to foster leadership for system transformation.

The CoP is funded by the Administration on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, Administration for Community Living, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services through a five-year Cooperative Agreement.

Community of Practice States and Jurisdiction

All applicants participated in a competitive process to be considered for the CoP. Each applicant was required to: (a) designate a Transformation Leadership Team (mandatory participants include the state DD entity, UCEDD, DD Council, P&A); and (b) make a five-year commitment to this system transformation initiative and to develop a transformation plan. In April 2017, the NCCC, in collaboration with AIDD, selected the following states and jurisdiction for membership in the CoP:

Arizona, California, Colorado, District of Columbia, Indiana,
Michigan, New York, Utah, Vermont, Wisconsin